Mabuyane to be sworn in as Member of Provincial Legislature in Bhisho

05:53 (GMT+2) Mon, 19 Feb 2018

Recently elected ANC Eastern Cape chairperson Lubabalo Mabuyane and his deputy Mlungisi Mvoko, will be sworn in on Monday as the newest members of the Eastern Cape Provincial Legislature.

Their designations within the provincial government, however, is still to be determined.

Mabuyane replaced Premier Phumulo Masualle in the ANC's top provincial post during last year's fractious provincial elective conference.

Last month the ANC in the Eastern Cape gave its biggest hint yet of a possible cabinet shuffle, calling for a reconfiguration of the provincial government as well as changes in four municipalities.

This follows a two-day meeting of the ANC's provincial executive committee where the PEC received reports on the state of municipalities as well as the provincial administration.

It was then decided that ANC's national officials must assess and make proposals on the "reconfiguration" of the provincial government.

According to PEC member, Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams, the Municipalities identified as hotspots include Walter Sisulu, Enoch Mgijima, Raymond Mhlaba, Mnquma, Port St Johns and the Amathole Municipalities.